Azerbaijan Political and State System


On November 12, 1995, according to the result of the referendum, the new Constitution of the Republic of Azerbaijan was approved and entered into force on December 5, 1995. The supreme law of the country was elaborated according to the fundamental principles and norms of international law [2] .

The people of Azerbaijan continuing their centuries-old traditions, taking as a basis the principles in the Acts of the Constitution on the independence of the State of the Republic of Azerbaijan, desiring the guarantee of the prosperity of the entire community and of each person, wanting the conformation of security, justice and freedom, understanding its responsibility in the face of the inheritances of today and future, using sovereign law solemnly declares the following intentions.

In the Republic of Azerbaijan, state power in internal affairs is limited by law and in foreign affairs by articles arising from accepted international agreements.

The state power of the Republic of Azerbaijan is organized according to the principle of the division of powers and the power is divided into legislative, executive and judicial power. This according to the Constitution, mainly legislative, the realization and power of the court works reciprocally and is independent within the framework of its full powers.


State structure

It is a democratic, legal, world, unitary republic. The organization of the State is structured according to the principle of the division of power: legislative is carried out by Millí Meylís (Parliament). The executive power belongs to the president: the judiciary is administered by the judges.

Legislative power

Millí Meylís is a single chamber and carries out the legislative power. Millí Mechlís is made up of 125 deputies and has a term of 5 years. The political system of Azerbaijan is a multi-party system.

Executive power

Leader of the Republic: The Leader of the State of Azerbaijan, a country located in Asia according to COMPUTERGEES, is the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan (currently Ilham Aliyev elected in 2003 and re-elected in 2008 and 2013). The President is elected for a term of 5 years by popular, free, direct, personal and secret vote based on the right of equal votes, and the Executive Power of the Republic of Azerbaijan belongs to the President.

Head of Government: The President, according to the approval of Millí Meylís, appoints the Prime Minister. It forms the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Azerbaijan for the organization of the fulfillment of the full powers of the President. The Cabinet of Ministers obeys the President and is accountable to him.

Power of attorney

The judiciary of Azerbaijan is made up of three levels which includes the Courts of First Instance, Courts of Appeal and the Supreme Court. The Judicial Power is carried out through the courts: Constitutional Court, Supreme Court, Courts of appeal, common courts and other specialized courts.


The three-color national flag of Azerbaijan was approved by the Government of the Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan on November 9, 1918. After the collapse of the Democratic Republic on April 28, 1920 and the establishment of the Soviet regime this flag was removed from Azerbaijan. However, the flag was restored in 1991, once independence was regained.

The blue stripe designates the Turkish origin of the Republic of Azerbaijan, the red color (its intention to create a modern state and develop democracy, the green stripe) its relationship with the civilization of Islam. In the center of the red stripe on both sides of the flag is a white crescent and an eight-pointed star.

Coat of arms

The coat of arms of the Republic of Azerbaijan symbolizes the independence of Azerbaijan, it is the image of an eastern coat of arms and a semicircle formed by oak branches and spikes. It contains the image of flame in the center of the eight-pointed star and in the background the colors of the national flag.


Baku is the capital of Azerbaijan, and the main Azerbaijani port on the shores of the Caspian Sea. It is located on the west coast of the Caspian Sea, on the southern side of the Abseron peninsula, about 160 kilometers northeast of the border with Iran. Founded in the 6th century AD. c, has an area of 1000 km2, the region is the source of an important oil industry, In 2000 the city was declared a Cultural Heritage of Humanity and, in 2003, included in the list of “goods in danger” established by the UNESCO.

The origins of Baku date back to the 6th century ; however, there is only written evidence of its existence since 885 ne. There are numerous theories about the origin of its name, but the most accepted are those that state that Baku comes from the Persian “bagh kuh” (the mountain of God) or from “bad kube” (the city of winds), since during For most of its history, Baku belonged to Persia.

The city gained importance after the earthquake that destroyed the capital of the Khanat of Chirvan, and Chemakha, in the 12th century. Until the beginning of the 19th century, the area was called Chirvan and was occupied by Russia; from 1918 to 1920 it was elected capital of the newly created Azerbaijan Democratic Republic, of short-lived existence; from 1922 it was the Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic; and in 1991 it became the capital of the newly independent Republic of Azerbaijan.

Administrative division

Azerbaijan is administratively divided into:

59 “scratches”:

· Abstained· Agcabadi

· Agdam

· Agdas

· Agstafa

· Agsu

· Astara

· Balakan

· Fence

· Beylaqan

· Bilasuvar

· Cabrayil

· Calilabad

· Daskasan

· Davaci

· Fuzuli

· Gadabay

· Goranboy

· Goycay

· Haciqabul

· Imisli· Ismayilli

· Kalbacar

· Kurdamir

· Lacin

· Lankaran

· Lerik

· Masalli

· Neftcala

· Oguz

· Qabala

· Qax

· Qazax

· Qobustan

· Quba

· Qubadli

· Qusar

· Saatli

· Sabirabad

· Saki

· Come out· Samaxi

· Samkir

· Samux

· Siyazan

· Susa

· Tartar

· Tovuz

· Ucar

· Xacmaz

· Xanlar

· Xizi

· Xocali

· Xocavand

· Yardimli

· Yevlax

· Zangilan

· Zaqatala

· Zardab

11 cities:

· Ali bayramli· Baku

· Ganca

· Lankaran

· Mingacevir· Naphthalan

· Saki

· Sumqayit

· Susa· Xankandi

· Yevlax

1 autonomous republic:

  • Nakhichevan

The Autonomous Republic of Nakhichevan is divided into seven lines:

  • Babek
  • Julfa
  • Kangarli
  • Ordubad
  • Sadarak
  • Shahbuz
  • Sharur

Azerbaijan Political and State System