Constitution of India Part 1

The constitution of India lays down the basic structure of Government under which the people are to be governed. It establishes the main organs of the Government – the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. The constitution not only defines the powers of each body, but also demarcates its responsibilities. It regulates the relationship between the various bodies and between the Government and the people. Thus it forms the basis of politics in India. The constitution is superior to the rest of the laws of the country. Every law enacted by the Government has to be in accordance with the constitution.

The Government of India is based on a tiered system, wherein the Constitution of India appropriates the issues in which each tier of the Government has executive powers. The constitution uses the seventh schedule to delimit the subjects under three categories namely the union list, the state list and the concurrent list. The central government has the powers to enact laws on subjects under the union list, while the state governments have the powers to enact laws on subjects under the state list. Both the central as well as the state governments can enact laws on issues under a concurrent list. However, the laws enacted by the central government under a concurrent list eliminate the laws enacted by the state government when a conflict arises between those laws.

Central and State Governments

The central government exercises its broad administrative powers on behalf of the President, whose duties may seem largely ceremonial. The president and vice president are indirectly elected by a special electoral college for 5-year terms. The vice president assumes the office of the president in the event of the death or resignation of the incumbent president.

The constitution designates the Government of India under two branches namely the executive branch and the legislative branch. True national executive power is centered in the Council of Ministers, led by the Prime Minister of India. The president appoints a prime minister, who is designated by the legislators of the political party or coalition commanding a parliamentary majority. The president then appoints subordinate ministers on the advice of the prime minister. In reality, the president has no discretion on the question of which to appoint as prime minister except when no political party or coalition of parties wins a majority in the Lok Sabha. Once the Prime Minister has been appointed, the President has no discretion on any other matter whatsoever, including the appointment of ministers. But all decisions of the central government are made nominally on its behalf.

Legislative branch

The constitution designates the Parliament of India as the legislative branch to oversee the operation of the Government. India’s bicameral parliament consists of Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People). The Council of Ministers is held accountable to the Lok Sabha.

The Government may enact laws and ordinances as necessary for the Government of the country. However, laws and ordinances have to be passed through the legislative branch to be carried out. Sessions of Parliament are conducted to discuss, analyze and pass laws tabulated as acts. Any law is first proposed as a count at Lower. If Lower approves the bill in current form, the bill is then proposed to be enacted in the upper house. If not, the bill is sent for amendment and then tabulated again in order to be passed as an act. Although the bill is approved in Lower, the Upper House has the right to reject the proposed bill and send it back to the Government to amend the bill. Therefore, it can be said that the Government of India occurs under two processes; the executive process and the legislative process. Ideally, the government cannot be done with individual processes alone. After the acts are passed by both houses, the President signs the bill as an act. Thus the legislative branch also acts under the name of the president, like the executive branch.

Ordinances are laws that are passed in place of acts, when parliament is not in session. When Parliament is in recess, the President assumes the legislative powers of both houses temporarily, under Part V: Chapter III – Article 123 of the Constitution of India. The government has to propose a law to the president during such periods. If the president is completely satisfied with the bill, and signs the bill, it becomes an ordinance. The powers of ordinances are temporary, and each ordinance has to be tabulated in Parliament when the houses reassemble. The president also has the right to withdraw an ordinance.

State Government

As a country located in Asia according to PAYHELPCENTER, the states in India have their own elected governments, where while the union territories are governed by an administrator appointed by the central government. Some of the state legislatures are bicameral, modeled after the two houses of the national parliament. The chief ministers of the states are accountable to the legislatures and the prime minister is also accountable to the parliament.

Constitution of India 1